The museum emerged as a school museum collection to the natural sciences circle at the school in the village of Cherni Osam in 1956. In 1976 the collection was transferred to a specially built building in the village and since 1977 it has been included in the structure of the then Regional Historical Museum - Lovech. Since 1992 the museum has been municipal. It is one of the few fully functioning museum institutions in a settlement with a village status. In the three halls of the museum are displayed over 700 exhibits. Large mammals are exhibited in the attraction room, there are recordings of bird songs, bear roar, wolfing. In the first hall through photos are reflected natural landmarks of the area, and in the glass showcases are presented all kinds of fish, amphibians and reptiles who live in the Middle Stara Planina. Of great interest are the insect collections and the over 120 different bird species shown. On the second floor can be seen diorama showcases with large photos, reflecting the environment in which the mammals live. The museum maintains an attractive educational program, realized in several forms - Green Classroom, Outdoor Nature Conservation Center. The Museum also has an information center for the Central Balkan Nature Park.
Translation Yordan Georgiev - trainee